Who would Jesus Praise?

Whoever is faithful in a very little is faithful also in much…

Text:  Luke 16:1-13

Have you ever been listening to someone and in your mind you go, Huh?  You have been paying attention but you just do not get what is going on.  You have the choice of continuing to listen, maybe work harder to understand.  Or, you may leave.  Or, you may pretend you are getting it, yet your mind wanders to more enjoyable thoughts.  This may happen in a meeting at work or a class at school.  This may happen between spouses; or child with the parent, or parent with the child.  I won’t ask if this ever happens during a sermon.

I know some of you listened to Jesus, to the words of our Gospel, the words of the story he told.  And, if you went, Huh? that is most likely because you are paying attention and want to pay attention.  But what is Jesus really saying?  Why is he praising a guy we find questionable at best.

It may help to ask what Jesus is doing when he tells these stories we call parables.  Last week we heard a comforting story – inviting us to picture ourselves as lost sheep – and the shepherd cares so much that we are found.  Why didn’t Jesus stop there?  Folks that study teaching methods as well as literature may help us.  A parable is not a fable.  A fable or a fairy tale generally has one point, the moral to the story.  The story of the tortoise and the hare reminds us about slow and steady.  I like that when the big powerful car that jumps off as the light turns green, is then waiting at the next stop light and my little car moves ahead.  When Jesus tells these stories, there is a purpose, but it may not be an obvious point.  I remember hearing a sermon on one of Jesus’ shorter parables.  The sermon made some very good points.  But I had to go, I am not sure that is what Jesus was getting at.  And, based on other discussions I had read, that may not be the message Jesus wants the church of today to hear.

Regarding that lost sheep:  Did Jesus want us to put ourselves in the place of the one lost sheep?  Or, might we imagine ourselves as one of the ninety-nine, wondering why the shepherd is not caring for us, instead of risking everything for that one stupid member who is always off doing crazy things.

Wednesday morning, our men’s Bible study worked hard trying to figure out today’s parable.  Driving from that gathering to the office, I caught a bit of a book discussion on the radio – the title of the book is I don’t know.  The author was explaining that when we quit pretending that we know, when in whatever situation we are in we admit we do not know, that gives us a freedom and, in fact some power to move forward.  We think about the academic community in which we live.  Even though we are about research, we live with great fear that others will think we do not know what we are talking about.  The author mentioned No Child Left Behind in which kids are measured by the ability to fill in the blanks, instead of developing the ability to dig into what they do not know.  And, I have to turn those thoughts on myself.  I have to recognize that when I try to build up myself by appearing to know, I am most likely exposing my shortcomings.  The humility to say, I don’t know is essential for basic human knowledge.  And, above all, this ability to admit what is lacking in us, including knowledge, is essential for our relationship of faith in Jesus Christ, the Son of the living God.

Another point here quickly:  The challenge to a congregation like ours is that we have a good history with a lot of people who have good experiences in the life of the church.  With all of that knowledge we do have, are we open to the perspective and questions of the person who has no recent experience in the church.  Are we open to people who have lived two or three generations without any experience of church.  I think many of us are open; but does the outsider sense that when they try to check out life here?

It may sound like I am trying to avoid addressing this story, which I consider the most perplexing of Jesus’ teaching.  Yet Jesus is the model teacher.  He used parables to challenge the smug.  He offered parables so that those who are willing to say, before God, I don’t know! might grow in greater understanding and faith.  So, a few questions:  Do we really need to equate the rich man with God?  We naturally do that as we read of the shepherd seeking the lost, of the farmer scattering seed with no apparent regard for the condition of where it may land.  In today’s story, maybe some aspects, but maybe not.  I don’t know.  If the manager acted shrewdly when he was in trouble, why did he squander – the word could imply carelessness or we might see ongoing selfishness – why was he not conscientious all along?  Who are the managers today?  Who can manipulate the resources of our nation, our institutions, our infrastructure, our earning power – be they politicians, investment bankers or consumers?  And what does that story about managing have to do with the goods that truly belong to our Creator?

Now, I do not know who all needs the challenge of a perplexing parable.  But I do know some of you need the word of God’s grace.  We cannot fully understand why Jesus’ story acclaims this manipulative manager.  I think, however, we can be pretty sure of some of the people Jesus would praise.  He would praise the person who says, I don’t know a lot about the Bible, but I know Jesus loves the little children, so I will help with Sunday School.

Jesus would praise the person who says, I’m not very accurate with a hammer and I can’t solve the problem of homelessness, but I can help with Habitat for Humanity.

Jesus would praise the person who says, I don’t know what a cappuccino is, but I can help prepare coffee for the enjoyment of people after worship.

Jesus would praise the person who says, My regular offering is not a big amount like some can give, and I do think about the things I could buy for my children with that, but I want them to see that our offering is part of God’s big picture. 

Jesus would praise the person who says, There are a lot of questions about God I cannot answer, but I am willing to be Christ’s presence, to be a little Christ, to that person I know who is seeking.

I don’t know what all is going on in your life – but I do know Jesus wants to help you so that who you are, what you have, the circumstances and knowledge of your life will help grow the kingdom of God.

Leave a comment

September 22, 2013 · 8:33 pm

Leave a comment